Learn to Swim and Leadership Programs

Learn to Swim and Leadership Programs

Red Cross Swim Lessons

Red Cross Swim Lesson Descriptions - Information guide for Red Cross Preschool and Swim Kids levels.

Lifesaving Society Swim Patrol

Swim Patrol develops swimming strength and efficiency with emphasis on Water Smart behaviour.  Skill drills enhance capability in the water, good physical conditioning, and lifesaving judgement.  Swimmers earn badges and stickers for meeting personal challenges and goals.  There are three levels:  Rookie, Ranger, and Star Patrol.  The next step in the progression is Bronze Star.

Lifesaving Society Bronze Medals

Bronze Star
Bronze Star provides the challenging training that provides a launch point for participants to pursue more advanced levels of training.  This program provides both mental and physical training, while having fun learning new skills.  These skills include First Aid and CPR as well as lifesaving techniques.

Pre-requisite - Ability only and Swim Patrol experience recommended.

Bronze Medallion
Bronze Medallion will open the door to lifeguarding.   It teaches an understanding of lifesaving principles in H2O Proficiency, First Aid, and Recognition and Rescue. 

Prerequisite for Bronze Medallion: 13 years old or Bronze Star.

Bronze Medallion Course

Register ONLINE

Bronze Cross
Bronze Cross is designed for keen lifesavers who are looking for challenges of more advanced training including an introduction to safe supervision in aquatic facilities and continuous training in First Aid and Rescue Response. Bronze Cross students will learn the difference between Lifesavers and Lifeguards to help keep them safe.

Bronze Cross Pre-requisites:  Bronze Medallion and Emergency First Aid certified by end of course.

Bronze Cross Course

Register ONLINE

National Lifeguard Certification
National Lifeguard is Canada's only nationally recognized lifeguard certification program. National Lifeguard is a legal certificate for lifeguarding throughout the country, and the only lifeguard certificate recognized by the province of Ontario. The Lifesaving Society’s National Lifeguard Core Content teaches the basic principles of lifeguarding in any aquatic situation.

National Lifeguard Pre-requisites: 16 years old and have Bronze Cross and Standard First Aid CPR C certifications. 

NL Pool Course 

Register ONLINE 

REd Cross Swimming & Water Safety Instructor (SWS)

The Swimming and Water Safety Instructor (Revised 2016) (WSI now SWS) course develops instructional ability by focusing on how to effectively plan and teach the Red Cross Swim continuum:  Red Cross Swim Preschool, Red Cross Swim Kids, Aqua Adults Program. Candidates apply their teaching skills and knowledge during of practical teaching experience and will be required to complete an online portion of the course as well.  Upon successful completion of the course, candidates are certified as Swimming and Water Safety Instructors. The course NOW includes HIGH FIVE: Principles of Healthy Child Development!

SWS Course

SWS Pre-requisites: 15 years old and Bronze Cross (need not be current). AWSI is not required under the new program.

Register ONLINE