Meet Me at the PMFRC

Meet Me at the PMFRC

FOTOLIA

Introducing Meghan Uzenko

Name:  Meghan Uzenko                               
Position: Information Services Assistant


(Image Source: PMFRC)

Tell us more about your role at the PMFRC and the programs that you are involved in.
I’m a member of the front line staff at The Family Centre. When CF members, and their families, come in on their house hunting trip - or to clear in - I can provide them with information about the area including schools, health care, where to change their licence and plates, things to do in the area, etc… I also assist CF members with DAGs and clear-outs.

Get out of your comfort zone and try new things. Take advantage of being so close to nature.

How long have you worked for the PMFRC?
I have worked at the PMFRC for nine months, but I was a volunteer for two years before that.
 
Tell me about your background (experience, education, etc.)
The PMFRC is the third military family resource centre that I have worked at – in a variety of different positions.  I have a Social Service Worker diploma, and have worked in the customer service field for several years.
                   
What can people expect to see when they first meet you?
My smile =)
 
What is your favourite part about working for the PMFRC?
I enjoy talking to people, and being able to help out a family who is new to the area.
                 
Where are you from and what brought you to Petawawa? How long have you lived here?
I was born in Montreal, and I have lived in Petawawa for 2.5 years. This is our family’s third posting in eight years!
 
What advice do you have for families transitioning to Petawawa?
Get out of your comfort zone and try new things. Take advantage of being so close to nature.
 
What is your favourite thing about living in the area? What is your favourite thing to do in the winter? The summer?
My favorite thing is being in a smaller community and the easy access to campgrounds, beaches, trails. I’m not a real winter fan, so my favorite thing to do is stay warm and cozy. In the summer my favorite thing is camping and hiking.