Shaking hands

Meet Me at the PMFRC

FOTOLIA

Introducing Melissa Warnock

Name: Melissa Warnock
Position: Database Administrator


(Image source: Melissa Warnock)

Tell us more about your role at the PMFRC and the programs that you are involved in.
My main role here at Employment Service is to ensure all files and stats are up to date and accurate, that we are achieving Ministry of Labour standards and goals and meeting the unique needs of clients we help on a daily basis. So yes …lots of spreadsheets! 
 
I am privileged to work with amazing co-workers, including our Employment Coaches and members of the Research and Information team. There are so many hats to wear in this role that it is never boring! A typical day could have me inputting data, reviewing files, discussing marketing ideas, ordering/inventorying office supplies, answering client phone calls or helping with intake paperwork.  I absolutely love it here as there is always something new to learn!
 
Tell me about your background (experience, education, etc.) 
My work history includes customer service, inside sales, the insurance industry and a variety of administrative assistant roles. As an adult I earned my CIP designation (Chartered Insurance Professional), and returned to college to complete a Medical Office Administration Diploma. During this time, I also earned my Labour Doula certification and was able to help a few friends bring their little ones into the world. I am currently looking into continuing my second language training to reawaken my dormant French skills and get back to the bilingual level I had as a child. 
 
What can people expect to see when they first meet you? 
I would hope they were met with a positive and welcoming energy. I’m not one to focus on the negatives in life, and can usually be found with a smile on my face. 
 
What is your greatest accomplishment or proudest moment working for the PMFRC?
At ES we have the ability to really make a difference in people’s lives. This is part of the reason I love working here-- being able to instill confidence and help people see their talents is incredible. While employed in the R&I role last year, I was tasked with helping one of our young clients get ready for an interview. As I reminded him of all the positive attributes he was bringing to the job, I watched his body language change from unsure to confident - shoulder rolled back, head held a little higher. 

He left with such confidence and returned hours later to let us know that he got the job… we shared high fives with him throughout the entire office. I will never forget the smile on his face.  

Where are you from and what brought you to Petawawa? How long have you lived here? 
I consider myself lucky to have lived in so many incredible areas across Canada.  My childhood was spent in Montreal, many adult years out west experiencing both the city life of beautiful Vancouver and Northern life in Prince George. I am most definitely a Southwestern Ontario girl at heart, as I have spent the majority of my time there, and would have to call Cambridge, Ontario my hometown. 
 
I think I have a familiar story for my arrival in Petawawa – “my partner was posted.”  Tom and I have been here two years now, and it has proven to be a wonderful area to live.  
 
What advice do you have for families transitioning to Petawawa? 
There are so many incredible things here! I won’t lie – I was a bit of a skeptic at first, but wow has Petawawa and region surprised me!  Craft breweries, local wineries, quiet beaches, home made doughnuts, an arts scene, great library programs, outdoor live music, volunteer opportunities … just so much if you take the time to embrace it.  My advice would be - Just get out there and try everything once! 
 
What is your favourite thing about living in the area?  
The fact that I have three options to launch my kayak or canoe all within ten minutes of my door is pretty spectacular ….  as well as the ability to have a quick hike, stunning paddle through Barron Canyon AND be home in time to enjoy a BBQ dinner and glass of wine on my back patio is quite amazing! 
 
What is your favourite thing to do in the winter?  
Ohh I’m not going to lie, I am still trying to embrace winter activities… I have a treadmill in my basement to off set my natural “Netflix and fuzzy blanket” hibernation instincts that kick in when the snow arrives.
 
The summer?  
I can usually be found barefoot and outside trying to coax my new garden into producing veggies, or off paddling a kayak or canoe, or hiking local trails. I recently got tired of being the passenger and surprised Tom by getting my bike license – I just love bombing around town on my own little beast! 

P.S. This area is absolutely amazing for anyone who rides!