Meet Me at the PMFRC

Meet Me at the PMFRC

Introducing Olivia Slosson

Name: Olivia Slosson
Position: Early Childhood Specialist


Image Source: PMFRC

Tell us more about your role at the PMFRC and the programs that you are involved in.
I help facilitate Play Troop, Mommy & Me, Daddy & Me, Storytelling, Music and Movement, and Saturday Morning Breakfast and Playtime. Some families may recognize me because I am a supply at other PMFRC programs when needed.
 
We work to create a welcoming and calm play environment for parents and children to come together to learn and play. I build relationships with those who come to the programs, I facilitate and act as a resource for parents who have questions about child development, self-regulation, and anything else they may be curious about. Regarding the children’s curiosity, I introduce activities and materials into the room based on what I have seen the children playing with, and what interests and developmental milestones are surfacing.

I build relationships with those who come to the programs, I facilitate and act as a resource for parents who have questions about child development, self-regulation, and anything else they may be curious about. 

 
How long have you worked for the PMFRC?
I have worked for the PMFRC since April 2018 when I was hired as a supply educator after my first year of college.
 
Tell me about your background (experience, education, etc.)
I’m a woman of the world! This is the third country I have lived in, and I think it is an important part of childhood to foster wonder and amazement about the world and other cultures. I am a fresh new face in the world of early learning and child care, being a recent graduate of the Early Childhood Education program at Algonquin College. I incorporate my love of learning and exploration into everything I do at the PMFRC.
 
What can people expect to see when they first meet you?
I am friendly, bubbly, and always open to questions and suggestions to improve learning experiences and understanding. If you don’t see me in the room, I am probably hiding out in the willow hut or outside with the children.
 
What is your favourite part about working for the PMFRC?
My favourite part about working for the PMFRC is building connections with families and getting to see how the children grow as they participate in different programs within the organization.
 
What is your greatest accomplishment or proudest moment working for the PMFRC?
It sounds small, but my proudest moment working for the agency was last summer when I was with a preschool program at Lil Troopers South. A child was absolutely terrified of insects and I used it as an opportunity to cultivate an interest in insects - specifically the ones that lived in our play yard.  The entire class joined in our quest to understand bugs, how important they are to our world, and that all life has value no matter how small. I got to be a part of an amazing transformation as the child went from being frightened to being fascinated! It was wonderful to be part of something so big in his life and the strong connection I made with the child through tiny critters with six or more legs!
 
Where are you from and what brought you to Petawawa? How long have you lived here?
I am originally from St. Louis, Missouri, USA. I came to Petawawa to join my partner and attend school at Algonquin College. I have been in Petawawa for just shy of two years.
 
What advice do you have for families transitioning to Petawawa?
My biggest piece of advice for families new to Petawawa is to reach out! There are so many amazing programs offered through the PMFRC and other community partners. If you have children 0-6, then come visit us at Play Troop! We are here as a resource for families from all walks of life. Last but not least, don’t be discouraged; even if you don’t have the answer you are looking for or are feeling isolated, you are not alone and there is always someone there to help.
 
What is your favourite thing about living in the area? What is your favourite thing to do in the winter? The summer?
My favourite thing about living here is the beauty and majesty of the surrounding area. I love the outdoors and try to take full advantage of everything available here. Some of my favourite activities in the summer are going to the dog beach at Black Bear Beach, kayaking, and going on hikes with my dogs. During the winter, I like to try my luck at ice skating. I am still learning, so if you see me wipe out, don’t laugh!
 
Leave us with a few words of wisdom -- what is your favourite quote?
 “Play is not a break from learning. It is endless, delightful, deep, engaging, practical learning. It’s the doorway into the child’s heart!” – Vince Gowmon