Shaking hands

Meet Me at the PMFRC

FOTOLIA

Introducing Shannon Colterman

Name: Shannon Colterman
Position:  Social Worker


Image source: PMFRC

Tell us more about your role at the PMFRC and the programs that you are involved in.
My role at the PMFRC is to provide confidential counselling services to individuals, children, adolescents and families of serving members. In the past, I have run parenting groups and taken on different roles to help my team, including the implementation of a new database.

Over the last 6 years I have had the pleasure of seeing some of my families in a much better place and this always puts a smile on my face.

How long have you worked for the PMFRC?
I have worked at the PMFRC since March 2012.

Tell me about your background (experience, education, etc.)
I have a Bachelor of Applied Science in Gerontology from the University of Guelph. I then attended Carleton University and completed my Bachelor of Social Work.

My work experience ranges from working with seniors in long-term care, providing front line support in a community living setting, to working with abused women and children at a women’s shelter.

What can people expect to see when they first meet you?
I have been told I am a very calm, serious and quiet person. At the beginning I tend to let people do a lot of the talking, as most have a story to tell and I am here to listen. Anyone who works in my office knows that my feet are always cold so I will always have warm socks on to keep the cold out.

What is your favorite part about working for the PMFRC?
I like working with my clients the most, giving them a place to tell their story and feel heard. Seeing how much progress they make, and how much they are able to achieve, is a wonderful experience for me. Over the last 6 years I have had the pleasure of seeing some of my families in a much better place and this always puts a smile on my face.

What is your greatest accomplishment or proudest moment working for the PMFRC?
I feel a lot of pride any time a family or individual is able to say they are ready to stop seeing me, because they feel like they can deal with the stresses of life without me. 

Where are you from and what brought you to Petawawa? How long have you lived here?
I was born and raised in a small farming community in Renfrew County. I am very close to my family and always wanted to stay in the area. I now reside outside of Pembroke with my husband and son.

What advice do you have for families transitioning to Petawawa?
Don’t be afraid to reach out for help. There is always someone that can help you, and the PMFRC has so many services to offer. 

What is your favorite thing about living in the area? What is your favorite thing to do in the winter? The summer?
My favourite thing about living in the area would have to be that I am close to my family and extended family. We love to get together, and we spend a lot of time together as a family.  We make maple syrup together every spring. In the summer, I love camping, four wheeling, hiking, fishing and swimming.  In the winter I like to go ski-doing and ice fishing (although I prefer to stay inside when it is too cold, as I am not a fan of the really cold weather). 

Leave us with a few words of wisdom -- what is your favorite quote?
 “You are braver then you believe, stronger than you seem, smarter than you think, and more loved than you will ever know”