The Good Food Box program

The Good Food Box program

Thinkstock
There will be no Good Food Box for the summer

Good Food Box

The Good Food Box Program  

The Good Food Box is a community based program designed to encourage healthier eating through promotion of fresh fruits and vegetables. It is a bulk-buying program that aims to lower your grocery bill by buying fresh fruits and vegetables from local distributors.
Each box will contain a variety of high-quality, fresh, nutritious fruits and vegetables. Stock depends on which are in season or available at best value. Recipes will be included to help you use your fruits and veggies in different ways. 

How does it work?
  • Community members come to the MFRC before the payment deadline and fill out an order form;
  • Pay for the order on site (payment can be made by cash, debit or credit);
  • No orders will be accepted after the deadline;
  • Fresh fruits & vegetables are ordered by the MFRC and arranged into the baskets ordered;
  • On the pick-up date, community members bring in reusable bags or shopping bags to take their produce home in.
What’s in a Good Food Box?
The Good Food Boxes may contain:
Potatoes Onions Carrots
Zucchini Tomatoes Cabbage
Lettuce Kale Green Pepper
Beets Garlic Green Beans
Broccoli Cucumber Mushrooms
Pears Apples Bananas
Peaches Oranges Melon
**most boxes have 11-13 items; items vary with seasonal pricing

Cost
Box Size Price
Small (perfect for 1-2) $15.00
Medium (perfect for 1-3) $20.00
Large (perfect for 3-5) $25.00
ORDER & PICK UP dates:
Order by noon... Pick-up by 4:45 p.m.
Thursday, January 18 Tuesday, January 23
Thursday, February 15 Tuesday, February 20
Thursday, March 15 Tuesday, March 20
Thursday, April 12 Tuesday, April 17
Thursday, May 10 Tuesday, May 15
**It is the individual’s responsibility to pick up their box at the MFRC on the pickup date, between 3:00 and 4:45 p.m.